Citrix Certifications throughout your career – the Citrix Learning Path

Obtaining Citrix certification validates expertise in virtualization, and dramatically enhances career path and job advancement opportunities. Any IT professional should pursue certification, as it brings both personal gains (as far as career advancement and salary), and enterprise-wide gains (as far as a secure and seamless virtual environment that supports all employees). With so many levels of certification, which is right for you? Use the following article as a guide through the Citrix certification learning paths.

The phase of implementation determines the role and subsequent skills required of IT staff. Citrix implementation is typically a four phase project: Assessment, Design, Deployment, and Maintenance.

Phase One: Assessment

An organization beginning to assess Citrix needs Solutions Architects. Solutions Architects design the virtual infrastructure that delivers desktops and applications throughout an enterprise. They can blueprint the design consideration needed for such an infrastructure, and integrate Citrix products with third party solutions. Solutions Architects are CCIA for Virtualization certified.

Phase Two: Design

The next phase of Citrix implementation is Design. Citrix Infrastructure design is carried out by a team of Systems Engineers. Systems Engineers build the virtual infrastructure for the delivery of desktops and applications throughout the enterprise. They also build the farm that delivers servers and desktops. Systems Engineers are tasked with integrating XenApp and XenDesktop solutions with Access Gateway, and integrating XenServer with third party storage solutions. Systems Engineers are CCEE for Virtualization certified.

Phase Three: Deployment

Citrix deployment is sometimes the shortest but most crucial phase of Citrix implementation. Deployment is executed by Systems Administrators. Systems Administrators create, manage, and deliver the virtual desktops that will be used by employees across the organization. They centralize and manage applications in the data center, which will be deployed across the organization. Systems Administrators also install and configure storage and provisioning services. System Admins are responsible for the set-up and deployment of a fully functional Citrix environment. Systems Administrators hold a variety of certifications: CCA for XenDesktop 5, CCA for XenDesktop 6, CCA for XenServer 6, and CCAA for XenApp 6.

Phase Four: Maintenance

Once Citrix deployment is completed, the organization rolls into phase four: maintenance. Citrix systems are maintained by Systems Analysts. Systems Analysts monitor, maintain, optimize, and troubleshoot the virtualized environment. They are tasked with keeping Citrix running optimally for all employees. Systems Analysts hold the same certifications as Systems Administrators. These Citrix certifications are CCA for XenDesktop 5, CCA for XenDesktop 6, CCA for XenServer 6, and CCAA for XenApp 6.

Citrix certification validates expertise in Citrix assessment, design, deployment, and maintenance.  Certification rewards both the employee and their employer, empowering the certified expert to effect change throughout their organization through the Citrix platform.

Next Steps

Explore Citrix certification by Unitek Education today, to realize the value for yourself. Speak with a Unitek Education representative about Citrix certification at 888-825-6273 or request more information here.

About Unitek Education

Unitek IT Education is the premier Authorized Citrix training center in the United States and has trained enterprise clients nationwide on Citrix installation, administration and security. Unitek Education’s cutting-edge training solutions have received accolades from many enterprise companies. Unitek Education has been honored with multiple Learning Partner of the Year and Learning Partner of the Quarter awards by Citrix Systems.